Learning and teaching

Key Learning Areas
Key learning areas in primary schools include English, Mathematics, Science, Humanities and Social Sciences, The Arts, Health and Physical Education, Japanese and Technologies. Resources and syllabus material for these Key Learning Areas (KLAs) is provided by the Queensland Curriculum and Assessment Authority (QCAA, formerly the Queensland Studies Authority).
The Australian Curriculum has already been implemented in English, Mathematics, Science, History and Geography. 
Other areas of the Humanities and Social Sciences may be implemented in 2016.

Educational goals for students
Ministerial Council on Education, Employment, Training and Youth Affairs, Melbourne Declaration on Educational Goals for Young Australians, December 2008, pp. 8–9.

Successful learners:
  • develop their capacity to learn and play an active role in their own learning
  • have the essential skills in literacy and numeracy, and are creative and productive users of technology, especially ICT, as a foundation for success in all learning areas
  • are able to think deeply and logically, and obtain and evaluate evidence in a disciplined way as the result of studying fundamental disciplines
  • are creative, innovative and resourceful, and are able to solve problems in ways that draw upon a range of learning areas and discipline
  • are able to plan activities independently, collaborate, work in teams and communicate ideas
  • are able to make sense of their world and think about how things have become the way they are
  • are on a pathway towards continued success in further education, training or employment, and acquire the skills to make informed learning and employment decisions throughout their lives
  • are motivated to reach their full potential.

 Confident and creative individuals:

  • have a sense of self-worth, self-awareness and personal identity that enables them to manage their emotional, mental, spiritual and physical wellbeing
  • have a sense of optimism about their lives and the future–are enterprising, show initiative and use their creative abilities
  • develop personal values and attributes such as honesty, resilience, empathy and respect for others
  • have the knowledge, skills, understandings and values to establish and maintain healthy, satisfying lives
  • have the confidence and capability to pursue university or post-secondary vocational qualifications leading to rewarding and productive employment
  • relate well to others and form and maintain healthy relationships
  • are well prepared for their potential life roles as family, community and workforce members
  • embrace opportunities, make rational and informed decisions about their own lives and accept responsibility for their own actions.
Active and informed citizens:
  • act with moral and ethical integrity
  • appreciate Australia’s social, cultural, linguistic and religious diversity, and have an understanding of Australia’s system of government, history and culture
  • understand and acknowledge the value of Indigenous cultures, and possess the knowledge, skills and understandings to contribute to, and benefit from, reconciliation between Indigenous and non-Indigenous Australian
  • are committed to national values of democracy, equity and justice, and participate in Australia’s civic life
  • are able to relate to and communicate across cultures, especially the cultures and countries of Asia
  • work for the common good, in particular sustaining and improving natural and social environments
  • are responsible global and local citizens. 

National Literacy and Numeracy Tests for Years 3 and 5 (NAPLAN)
The National Assessment Program—Literacy and Numeracy (NAPLAN) is an annual national assessment for all students in Years 3, 5, 7 and 9.
 All students in these year levels are expected to participate in tests in Reading, Writing, Language Conventions (spelling, grammar and punctuation) and Numeracy. All government and non-government education authorities have contributed to the development of NAPLAN materials.

Why students are required to participate in the NAPLAN test
NAPLAN is the measure through which governments, education authorities, schools, teachers and parents can determine whether or not young Australians are meeting important educational outcomes in literacy and numeracy.
The tests provide parents and schools with an understanding of how individual students are performing at the time of the tests.
They also provide schools, States and Territories with information about how education programs are working and which areas need to be prioritised for improvement.
NAPLAN tests are one aspect of the school’s assessment and reporting process and do not replace the extensive, ongoing assessments made by teachers about each student’s performance.
Please ensure all appointments are made for children at times other than these days in May. It is easier for a child to sit the tests with their class on the test day rather than have to catch up on one or more tests on the Friday. Thank you for your assistance with this. Please remember that these tests can be quite overwhelming for some students if we, as adults, over- emphasise their importance.
Last reviewed 13 March 2023
Last updated 13 March 2023